JAAB Independence Day Football tournament 2019

JAAB Independence Day Alumni Football 2019

In a thrilling JAAB Independence Day Football tournament 2019, St. Xaviers School Alumni Fort, Mumbai narrowly beat Holy Family Alumni Association B 2-1 in sudden death to lift the JAAB William Neelankavil rolling trophy 2019.

The matches were hosted by St. Stanislaus Ex-students Association (SSESA) at the schools AstroTurf grounds to celebrate our Independence Day.

Twelve teams from the Jesuit Bombay Province came together for this annual football tournament for the 8th year. The teams played their round-robin matches with great enthusiasm and skill. While there was great fellowship between players off the field, the serious intent of winning was never in doubt on the field.

In the first semifinal, Holy Family Alumni Association B narrowly beat St. Xaviers School Alumni B 3-2 in a thrilling match. In the second semifinal St. Xaviers School Alumni A beat St. Mary’s ICSE Alumni B 3-1.

The finals between St. Xaviers School Alumni A and Holy Family B was very keenly contested and ended scoreless at full-time. Penalty kicks also ended tied 4-4. The deadlock was finally broken through sudden death with St. Xaviers School Alumni A winning for the first time.

A special thanks to the SSESA Managing Committee for hosting the tournament and specifically Ms Perviz Motafram and her team, Coach Hycinth Cardoz, Stanny Lewis and Illidio Borges.


The 12 alumni teams that participated were

  •     Holy Family A
  • St Xaviers School A
  • St Xaviers School B
  • St Mary’s SSC A
  • St Xaviers Nashik A
  • Holy Family B
  • St Xaviers College A
  • St Stanislaus A
  • St Mary’s ICSE A
  • St Mary’s ICSE B
  • St Stanislaus B
  • Xaviers Engineering

Similar Posts